Home > Uncategorized > BlackBerry Premium Multimedia Headset – 9700

BlackBerry Premium Multimedia Headset – 9700

December 25, 2009

You got to understand that I’m a music lover! Also I’m a pedestrian, usually walking & taking the subway to & from work, going to friends place, and shopping.

Bold 9700 Multimedia Playback

Bold 9700 Multimedia Playback

Ever since I’ve owned the Sony Ericsson W810i, I’ve been looking for a phone that has quality headsets, preferably from the same manufacturer as the phone (better quality and/or compatibility). I think only 1 phone I’ve ever owned in the past 4yrs didn’t have quality stereo headphones (E71). Also I used to be an A2DP faithful, again due to SonyEricsson, but finding the specific model A2DP headphones locally or even online from reputable retailers I gave up on those.

BlackBerry Premium Multimedia Headset

BlackBerry Premium Multimedia Headset

Enter the BlackBerry Premium Multimedia Headset & 9700. In a word …. POW! I’m no audiophile but I take specific pride in the tracks I truely love (Classic House, Jazz, R&B, Hip-Hop, and Progressive House). After previously using the iPhone/iPod I was pleasantly surprised by the frequency response, and the BASS that these offer. I’m ecstatic over the deep lows, mids, and High’s that I have NOT heard before in the same tracks I listen to daily for the past 4mths!!

RIM BlackBerry Premium Multimedia Headset Kit

Complete Case & switchable earings

Playback, FWD, RWD, Volume adjustment … its ALL there when connected to my BlackBerry 9700. I used to own the BlackBerry 8100 and I tried a 3rd party headset for those and was put off using it as a music player due to the headset automatically trying to voice call without any input from me on a windy day, Arrgh! This new OS 5.0.x.xxx along with the stereo headphones reproduce sound and playback controls VERY well.

RIM BB Bold 9700 - Germany Official Presentation

RIM BB Bold 9700 - Germany Official Presentation

Unfortunately, these don’t accept calls, or make calls  ~ or the odd time I get it to work its not well. Also I keep getting an odd feedback like static, not often and very rare but I think its due to the headset plug being pulled/bent slightly. The issue with making/receiving calls may have to do with the angled sides of the 9700, the headset plug does not seat fully flushed in the 9700’s jack.

I’m beginning to wonder if the Premium Multimedia Headset is specifically for the Storm model (RIM has 9700 & other listed as compatible). Unless others have different experiences than I do with making/receiving calls then I’m thinking of keeping these until I get a similar version from RIM.

RIM BB Bold 9700

RIM BB Bold 9700

