Home > BlackBerry, Communication, RIM > OMFG!! iOS5 Has AutoText?! Let me clarify

OMFG!! iOS5 Has AutoText?! Let me clarify

July 11, 2011

I just hacked on iOS5Beta2 on my 16GB iPhone 4 and in Settings, Keyboard … there is option called “ShortCuts” with one pre installed “omw” = “On my way!” .

This is EXACTLY like AutoText that was solely available to BlackBerry. I’ve posted about how powerful this is and something that business users the REAL corporate types must have when composing full emails on their BB’s while mobile … I honestly believe this is something that Mr. Jim Balsillie and Mr. Mike Lazaridis use DAILY without a sweat.

I’d SWEAR an Apple iOS internal developer had a) read my blog, or b) owned a BlackBerry for YEARS and had to implement this.

Oh yes and you can “Add New Shortcut”:

Phrase: Look RIM we have autotext tooo!

Shortcut: OU812

description: Create a shortcut that will automatically expand into the word or phrase as you type!

 

WOOOOOAAH!

This brings back Van Halen’s OU812 album cover meaning to the smartphone user realm.

Now I gotta get this badboy to make calls and do a sync – if not then I’m back to BlackBerry as I think I bricked my iPhone 4. I NEVER ran into this installing beta firmware on my BlackBerry – something I LOVED about RIM.

  1. August 1, 2011 at 12:30 PM

    I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re amazing! Thanks!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
