Home > Uncategorized > BB10 … Some thoughts

BB10 … Some thoughts

October 8, 2012

BB10 Flow.

  1. Inbound Calls – is Picture ID for my contacts now full screen? (I don’t mind if the picture is cascaded behind on-screen information related to the phone app).
  2. IS the Hub still accessible while on a Call? 
  3. Can I jump to the Hub while on a conference call and jot down notes? (jump to speakerphone/BT headset for the call). 
  4. Can I enter a new appointment/meeting during that call … and most critically if I’m NOT in a data connection (WLAN/3G/LTE) will it automatically Sync when I’m in coverage/connected immediately and seemlessly in the background?

IT Perspective:

How do we troubleshoot Sync’ing issues: One-Way or Bidirectional?

How do I perform a Soft-Reset vs a Hard-Reset?

Is there 2 levels of Hard-Reset; 1 where settings remain, the other where restore to factory remains?

If I perform a Hard Reset will settings for ActiveSync remain, just the data being wiped in order to auto restart sync from scratch?

Are we STILL stuck with full wipe to have IT Policy? Or will the IT Policy refuse the device to be used when wiped with policy on it until local connection to a new DesktopManager with corporate user authentication?
(think of high rate of thefts of a desirable device).

Will RIM directly support SIM unlocking to the end user going forward?

 

The most critical thing that RIM needs to address is BIS! How often do end users, and recently corporations switch providers where a user must delete their personal emails sync’ing to a device and then are required to set up their personal email address again? Most IT departments will not support personal email setup inquiries or problems with personal emails unless it affects corporate email setup/use. In the latter most cases IT will just simply remove the offending personal email (BIS) setup entirely. 

The issue lies in AppWorld and the account used to register with it. My AppWorld download history (for both BB7/BB6/BB5 apps and a few on PlayBook was registered to my previous carrier account email address BBoi@rogers.blackberry.net. Since its been months (12/15?) since I used a BB I’m heavily considering going back to BB, sincerely, yet my email address is no longer valid since I’m now on Telus Mobility. How will I restore my apps, contacts, notes, BBM since their all related to that address?!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 11, 2012 at 12:12 AM

    I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again

    Like

    • Dono
      October 22, 2012 at 9:09 PM

      Thank you both for taking the time to read my blog and comment your thoughts. Much appreciated. Feel free to provide critical criticism or advise or correct any links or facts as you see fit.

      thank you.

      Like

  2. October 14, 2012 at 5:15 PM

    Keep working, nice post! This was the information I had to know.

    Like

  3. October 25, 2012 at 7:10 AM

    A very impressive article. Well prepared. Very motivating!! Go off on to facilitate way

    Like

    • Dono
      October 27, 2012 at 7:14 PM

      Jeremias Tamayo Paz! Many thanks for your support and time to make a comment. Much appreciated. Its been a while since I posted and now I have a bit more time from working less than 60hr work weeks to post. Stay tuned in.

      Like

  4. November 3, 2012 at 3:26 PM

    Exciting ideas, thank you for sharing these in this posting.

    Like

  5. November 7, 2012 at 7:12 PM

    Thanks designed for sharing such a nice idea, article is nice, thats why i have read
    it completely

    Like

    • Dono
      November 9, 2012 at 9:47 PM

      Those are words that bring joy to my thoughts. I hope you continue to read, reply and offer pointers or ideas or rebuttal in the comments.

      Like

  6. November 7, 2012 at 7:54 PM

    After checking out a handful of the articles on your web page, I honestly appreciate
    your way of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back
    soon. Please check out my web site too and tell
    me how you feel.

    Like

    • Dono
      November 9, 2012 at 9:45 PM

      Hot & Cold Katy Perry,

      Thanks for bookmarking my site. Also appreciate the kind words. I’ll check out your site shortly.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
