Home > Uncategorized > BlackBerry 10 HoneyMoon is over …

BlackBerry 10 HoneyMoon is over …

April 4, 2013

If you’re like me and own the Z10, you’re loving the device and have probably gotten used to a few things, yet are craving for others.

Across a few forums many users have stated their gripes and please for issues, perceived bugs or omittances, and requests to get back that loving feeling of features they miss of the older legacy BlackBerry OS. 

Amongst there are … 

Multiple Alarms!

I’m not sure what on earth BlackBerry was thinking but many consumers and business users have/require several alarms on their current smartphone for use throughout the day, week, month. Sure you could utilize the calendar or use a third party app, but this should be a core feature, bar none.

Image

Email 30 days limitation!!

– FOR FRAK’s SAKE … whom is the moron at RIM that decided to choose this limitation for every user (corporate or personal)? This person or team should have a serious public back-smack across the face! Never confine or restrict a user from their access to their data – plain and simple!

I’ve found several troubleshooting documents that irregardless of changes made as guided does not resolve this issue. Nor does remote search either.

1. Listing ExchangeActiveSync users assigned to a specific ActiveSync policy. (cmdlet below)

Get-CASMailbox -Filter {ActiveSyncMailboxPolicy -eq $ActiveSyncPolicyName} |ft Displayname, ActiveSyncMailboxPolicy, Servername

2. KB33742 – “Days to synchronize” is set to “No Limit” but the BlackBerry 10 smartphone syncs only 30 days of information.

Cause: This is currently by design on the BlackBerry 10 smartphone.

Workaround: Attempt a remote search to retrieve older emails.

3. KB33619 – Supported Microsoft ActiveSync Features and Policies for use with BlackBerry 10.

Note: IT administrators can view or configure Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync mailbox policy properties using this Microsoft Support article. 

4. View or Configure Exchange ActiveSync Mailbox Policy Properties

Include past e-mail items – Use this drop-down list to select the date range of e-mail items to synchronize to the mobile phone. The available options include the following: All, One Day, Three Days, One Week, Two Weeks, and One Month. If you have to specify other options, use the Shell to configure this setting.

Image

BB10 Emails Forever – this is a photoshop fake!

Flagged Emails!

The ability to flag emails was unparalleled in previous BBOS, however recent shortcomings are appalling.

Simply flagging an email is not enough for me to be productive. In BB10 I cannot Flag an email and readily find it. A tip from a crackberry.com user, TgeekB, mentioned “Flagged emails go to your Remember folder so they can all be found in one place“. However its jumbled with all other non-categorized Remember App entries and they’re very convoluted. I’m curious why not have a specific on-device folder for “Flagged”. I also cannot set a reminder/alarm for a flagged email within The Hub, instead I have to search for the flagged email in Remember App, then open it and set a Due Date. Some will stay this is just a different way to using an old function in a new platform, yet its VERY unproductive!

Solution – enable “Flagged Properties” in Flow within The Hub (since this is where you see the flagged email anyway), and allow the user to set a reminder here directly. Secondly, have all Flagged Emails be consolidated in a pre-defined Remember App category “Flagged” or “Flagged Emails”. Maybe go two better, have all flagged emails into categories of such yet also by mailbox (i.e. Outlook – Flagged, GMail – Flagged, etc), while also having new hub section to show flagged emails by date, yet this maybe too complex.

There are quite a few other issues, but these seem to really tick off the majority of the BlackBerry faithful on BB10. There is rumor that the next major update, 10.10.xx, may enable these seemingly critical issues so I have my thumbs crossed. 

Thread: http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry-z10-f254/my-company-just-turned-down-z10-because-30-day-email-option-789241/

 

PS: I’ve seen a few mistakes across the internet regarding this company’s name and also the product. As stated on their home pages internationally its “Copyright © 2013 BlackBerry” which means BlackBerry, like the product has two capital B’s. Let’s get it straight from here on out shall we.

  1. April 4, 2013 at 6:56 AM

    Good blog post. I absolutely appreciate this site.
    Keep writing!

    Like

    • Dono
      April 11, 2013 at 5:30 PM

      Thank you kindly 😀

      IU’ll do my best.

      Like

  2. April 11, 2013 at 10:01 PM

    Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

    Like

    • Dono
      April 12, 2013 at 1:02 PM

      I’m happy you enjoy my blog post! Honestly many thanks for the compliments … I try to post a view not covered by other sites, even if at times its influenced by them but with a different view – speaking of which after Jiu-Jitsu training tonight I’ll be posting another blog post that is influenced by a more popular BB fan site I’m sure you’re aware of. I’m going to try not making a habit of it, that’s why I’m not posting as often.

      Like

  3. April 17, 2013 at 12:16 PM

    I came to your “BlackBerry 10 HoneyMoon is over &” page and noticed you could have a lot more traffic. I have found that the key to running a website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get traffic from and they let you try it for free. I managed to get over 300 targetted visitors to day to my website. Check it out here: http://voxseo.com/traffic/

    Like

    • Dono
      April 17, 2013 at 10:05 PM

      Thanks for offer for more traffic, but I’ll just work on my own for now. currently I use the tags to lure in traffic, seems to be working but gaining unwarranted link backs from sites completely unrelated just to have traffic bounce back from my humble blog to their sites from visitors here.

      Like

  4. ps2 emulator
    April 25, 2013 at 10:27 AM

    Hello! Where did you get theme of your website? It is pretty amazing 😀

    Like

    • Dono
      April 26, 2013 at 10:07 PM

      This theme is provided directly from wordpress.com, nothing modified. I’m not sure how often I’m asked this every day … I should make a blog entry JUST for this.

      Like

  5. Email Console
    April 27, 2013 at 11:57 PM

    Saved as a favorite, I really like your web site!

    Like

  6. April 28, 2013 at 4:53 AM

    Together with the whole thing that appears to be developing inside this particular area, all your points of view are actually relatively refreshing. Even so, I am sorry, but I can not subscribe to your whole idea, all be it exciting none the less. It looks to us that your remarks are generally not totally validated and in reality you are generally your self not really wholly certain of the assertion. In any case I did enjoy reading through it.

    Like

    • Dono
      April 28, 2013 at 4:25 PM

      I appreciate the criticism, honest and much appreciated. If you will, have a look at some of my other posts please, and feel free to comment.

      Thank you kindly.

      Like

  7. Best reviews of car seats
    April 30, 2013 at 6:59 AM

    This is a wonderful website filled with quality value, i will be back

    Like

  8. Leon
    May 3, 2013 at 12:00 AM

    Good post here, thanks for sharing the info.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.